Your cart is empty
Read terms and conditions here
Shipping of products:
Want to avoid postage charges?
  1. All orders of DKK 500,00 or more are posted free of charge. This applies only to orders sent within the Faroe Islands.
  2. You may also pick up your order at the TUTL store aka The Happy Corner on Niels Finsensgøta in Tórshavn.
  3. NOTE! VAT is added to the price of products, ordered and shipped within the Faroe Islands.

In anticipation of Afenginn's upcoming release Klingra, comes the single "Himnakroppanir" (Celestial Bodies).

In Klingra, Afenginn's composer and bandleader Kim Rafael Nyberg has crafted a quiet yet fervent post-classical/post-rock exploration into the temperament of intertwined cycles. Both the music and poetry (in Faroese) are composed by using cyclical patterns of unequal size. Like the gears in a clock the parallel themes intersect at points, creating contracted dissonance or lifting consonance. The overarching experience is deeply contemplative and melancholic, with the light of emancipation emerging on the horizon.

"Himnakroppanir" is the last piece on the A side of the vinyl. It's the crest on a wave that's been building over the last two pieces so it begins already surging with interlocked patterns that speak of a kind of urgency. Soon we are met with the voice of Ólavur Jákupsson (Yann Tiersen) with the words "vit bresta til jarðar, vit støkka til himmals, til jarðar vit bresta, til himmals vit støkka" - "we crash to the ground, we spring to the sky, to ground we crash, to sky we spring". He continues to chant these lyrics, playing with the order of words, building the tension as he's joined by the voices of Dánjal á Neystabø and Teitur, trombone hits, strings, and synth bass. A sudden but soft break pulls away most of the layers leaving the pianos to take us out with their tight motif laid atop a low drone.

The team of musicians on Klingra come from many corners of the Nordic countries. From The Faroe Islands there is Teitur and Dánjal á Neystabø on pianos, Mikael Blak (Eivør) on bass, and Ólavur Jákupsson (Yann Tiersen) singing in Faroese. From Norway the percussionist Knut Finsrud, from Denmark Niels Skovmand on violin, Ulrik Brohuus on drums and guest appearance by The Danish String Quartet, and from Finland the composer Kim Rafael Nyberg. Accompanying the release of this album in Spring 2019, there will be robust tours throughout Europe, the US, and Australia.


1. Himnakropparnir

Released on the following formats:
Digitally as stream and download on all major digital platforms (iTunes, Spotify, Apple Music etc.). See the player below where you can listen to the track.

This single release is a front-runner of a full-length album that is set to be released April 5, 2019.